Whoosh.

Whoosh. This week has been exhausting for many reasons, some of them good and some of them not so much.

I gave my months’ notice at my job- my last day will be July 17th, a week before I head back to Denver and then Seattle to visit family and get my tonsils removed. Although going back wasn’t in my plan (obviously- I bought a one way ticket for a reason) the fact that I have the time, financial ability and familial willingness to take care of my sorry butt during recovery is something I shouldn’t take for granted.

I’m excited for the end and grateful for the experience I’ve had- it’s been long, hard, and I know I hate working in an office environment, but I got paid enough to make rent and buy groceries by writing which is cool!

I got (and then had to turn down) an assistant editor offer for a fashion magazine which would have been a very interesting experience. If you had told me at age 15 (or 20, for that matter) that I would be excited about the possibility to work at a fashion magazine I would have laughed at you! Unfortunately my schedule wasn’t going to support that change.

I’ve started the visa and loan process for going to school in Ireland in September, which is exciting. Peoples’ reactions to me moving there are varied- all concerns mostly have to do with the weather, and knowing how miserable I get in the cold, damp grayness. I’m concerned about that as well, but hopefully a combination of pubs, Irish accents, handsome bearded Irish men in snugly sweaters and a sun lamp will keep me sane.

Through a series of unfortunate events (and my stubborn inattention to metaphorical red flags) my heart is a bit hurty this week. The long story short and the silver lining clung to, I’ve found the people in my life who will be awake at 3am when I can’t sleep, the friends whose shoulders I can cry on, and the girlfriends who are all too willing to plot revenge on the asshole who messed with me. I refuse to say that my heart is broken (hearts are more resilient than that) but it’s been dropped a few times and I’m tired. I’m hoping that this marks a change in the cloud that has seemed to hang over my head in the last two years so that the sunny, brilliant Liz can shine through again (cause I’m not the only one who misses that energetic, optimistic weirdo).

My next post will be about Amman and the beautiful chaos contained within this unique place, and why, despite it all, I will never stop loving this country.

Thanks for reading my ramblings!

Thanks for reading my ramblings!

Leave a Reply

