Sun of a Bitch

I have another post coming up that demonstrates this, but it seems like life has had more than a few ups and downs in the last week or so. Unfortunately in the last 24 hours this trend has been amplified and exacerbated… whomp whomp. Here’s a brief rundown of the last bit of time in my life.

Unbeknownst to me the house I’m staying in has an alarm system. A housemate set it. I set it off. It made a horrendous sound and didn’t stop for a very long time.

I then realized that the same housemate had dead bolted the front door, which I do not have a key for. I cracked a beer and decided to deal with it the next day.

The next morning I woke up at 5am to sunlight streaming through my window. I love the sun dearly, but 5 should only come in pm times.

Running on four hours sleep I had to climb out the living room window (rucksack first!) to go climbing. Still locked out, obviously. Good to know I have an escape route if necessary.

I spilled coffee down my clean, white climbing shirt approximately ten seconds after I took my first sip.

Literally a mile before the car park where we were going I realized that I forgot not only my harness (kind of important), but also my rock shoes. I remembered to grab my chalk bag and helmet from my bag conveniently stored in the upstairs attic. I remembered to borrow ropes and a full rack of gear. I couldn’t open a drawer and get my harness and shoes.

Mother. Fucker.

This whole living out of a suitcase thing? Getting real old.

Thankfully my climbing partner had a sense of humor! Also, he dropped his wallet somewhere and found it this morning lying in a puddle in the middle of his street. Struggle bus much?

We drove an additional 30 minutes to the house of a friend who kindly lent me his harness and shoes, which were 2.5 sizes bigger than mine. Better than nothing!

I realized I could fit in the trunk of my friend’s car. I put myself in time-out for a minute.

I slipped going up the first Severe of the day, a route called Final FU. It almost Final F Me-d… The climb then turned into a glorified VDiff, which was disappointing.

It began to rain.

It kind of stopped raining.

I stuck to my goal and climbed a Hard Severe (the gloriously named Ron Burgundy), a grade above what I’ve been climbing. I didn’t fall, although there was some faffing about. Kind of felt like a hollow victory. Perspective, though- I climbed a HS in big, borrowed shoes in the dreary Irish mizzle. Success?

The skies opened as I was at the bottom of a harder climb, and the granite turned into a little wee water slide.

Boo.

BOO.

Through a bit of innovation and some swearing we managed to get all the gear out of the wall and were on our way back to the car. Where it promptly stopped raining.

(All in all I seconded Whit, led Ron Burgundy, seconded Double Berth, led Final FU, and rescued gear from Broken Arrow which should count for something.)

My camera’s SD card failed so I couldn’t document the misery/epicness but, to be honest, pictures couldn’t have done the day justice.

When I got home I realized I had my underwear on inside out all day.

Silver linings: I upped my climbing grade and gained confidence in my meager climbing abilities. My climbing buddy helped me solve my forgetfulness issues patiently. He didn’t kill me or even attempt it. The sun shone for a few wee hours, even if it was horribly early in the morning. The USA legalized gay marriage, which from here on out shall be known simply as marriage. I haven’t failed my Master’s degree yet. I got home, had a shower, and had a beer. Climbing day success.

In not climbing related news, I’ve made the roster for the Belfast Roller Derby A-team as an alternate skater. Talk about a huge confidence boost!

I hope this is the end of this weird little roller coaster my life has been on, but we’ll see. Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

